Device Blackouts

Overview

From time to time, you may want to disable monitoring or notifications for a short period of time, or at a specific time on a daily or weekly basis. For example:

  • Disable monitoring during a scheduled maintenance window
  • Disable notifications for managers from 10 PM to 6 AM every day
  • Disable monitoring and notifications during downtime for a system upgrade

Device Blackouts provides an easy way to disable monitoring and notifications for any site or transaction device per your requirements. The configuration screen is accessed through the Manage Site or Manage Transaction screen. Once you've set blackouts on one device, you can use Bulk Settings to establish the same blackouts on any or all other devices in your account.

Blackout Configuration

From the Manage Site, Manage Transaction, or Manage API device screen, click the Blackouts button in the upper right to display the Monitor Blackouts screen:

Blackouts_Button.PNG

The Monitor Blackouts screen has two sections:

  • Persistent Blackouts
  • One-Time Blackouts

Monitor_Blackouts.PNG

Persistent Blackouts are used to disable monitoring or error notifications for specified days and hours on a weekly basis. This is most useful when you have scheduled maintenance periods and want to temporarily halt monitoring during that time frame, or if you have notifiers that you don't want to get alerts during certain times of the day or during weekends.

For example, you don't want to receive alerts from 6:00 PM on Friday through 7:00 AM on Monday. Under ----Blackout From----, select Friday from the Day dropdown, enter 6:00 under HH:MM, and select PM from the AM/PM dropdown. Under ----Blackout Thru----, select Monday, enter 7:00, and select AM. Click the radio button next to Disable all notifications for this site/device during the selected period(s), then click the Submit button in the upper right.

The Persistent Blackouts section as described will look like this:

Persistent_BO.PNG


One-Time Blackouts are best utilized when you have a single event during which you don't want monitoring or notifications to take place.

For instance, you scheduled an upgrade of your web server's memory board for next Thursday at 6 PM. It will take about 30 minutes, and you want to stop monitoring during that time. In the One-Time Blackouts section, enter the date and time in YYYY-MM-DD HH:MM (24-hr clock) format in the From and To fields, or click on the calendar widget to the right of each field and select the date, and click or drag to set the time. Make sure monitoring is displayed in the Type field, then click the button labeled Add new one-time blackout. The one-time blackout will be displayed at the bottom of the screen. Click Submit to confirm.

One-time_BO.PNG


Console Display

Once you have a blackout configured on a device, a "clock" icon is displayed next to the device name in the Status tab and Configure tab. For example:

BO_in_Status.PNG BO_in_Config.PNG

You can click on the icon in either page to bring up the Monitor Blackouts screen see what you have configured and to make any changes needed. You can enter additional persistent blackouts, adding rows as needed, or add new one-time blackouts. To delete any persistent blackouts or any currently scheduled one-time blackout, simply check the box next to the item you want to delete, and click Submit in the upper right.

Delete_blackouts.png

Note that past one-time blackouts cannot be deleted.

Applying Blackouts to Other Devices

If you have other site and transaction devices that need to have the same Blackout applied, once you have set up one device, you can go to ConfigurationBulk Settings and use the one device as a template for any other devices. Please go to the Bulk Settings help page and click on Device Blackouts in the bullet list at the top.

Back to top

© 2012 by AlertSite a SmartBear Business --
Syndicate this site RSSATOM